My last day as a federal employee was March 30, 2012, and everyday since then I’ve been trying to find normal.  I went from working 40 hours a week and commuting 5 hours a week to being a stay at home mom.  Bitsy Girl was born in July, and I had to return to work when she was 8 weeks old.  I said that it wasn’t so hard to leave her because she didn’t look at pathetic and helpless as some other 8 week old babies I have seen.  Regardless, it was still difficult to leave my daughter, even though she was staying home with my husband.  There really is not way to describe having to take care of every single need for a very needy little human being for 8 weeks, then have to jump back into inspecting government widgets.  It was not only heartbreaking but confusing, as well.

Months later I find myself in the same situation, only reversed.  I have left my job inspecting government widgets to care for my daughter, and yet, I don’t find my switch to being home as natural as I had hoped.  Yes, I feel better about my choice to be home, and yes, I know the basics of caring for my daughter.  It is my time management that could use some work.  I had always thought of myself as a very ambitious go-getter, and yet, I find myself barely getting laundry done some weeks.  Bitsy Girl is 10 months old now, and not only naps 3-4 hours a day, but can play by herself for almost 20 minutes at a time.  I, of course, devote time in my day to play with, cuddle, and care for her, but I find myself easily frustrated with my lack of productivity on home tasks.  My dishes get neglected, I make super easy meals to avoid having to cook for too long.  I forget to wipe down my bathroom sink some weeks.  It seems ridiculous.  I had thought being at home would give me so much time to do what it was I wanted to get down.  I thought I would have time to paint and declutter and bake and cook and garden.  But sometimes I don’t.

I’m continuing to work on these skills, but I wouldn’t mind any suggestions.  Anyone else have suggestions for a poor time manager?

