Beard has been working for a local university since January, and our family has enjoyed so many benefits from his employment there.  The pay is pretty good, the benefits aren’t bad at all, and he works three and four day weeks.  We feel like we’ve been blessed beyond belief with our situation.  The only thing that can be a struggle with Beard’s job is the long work days.  He works 12 hour days (day shift, thankfully), and that can be not only stressful and tiring for him but for all of us.  As a tiny person, our Bitsy Girl usually doesn’t wake up before her daddy leaves at 6:30 in the morning, and often she is in bed before he gets home around 7:40 in the evening.

(Before you realize what I’ve just typed, know that I do acknowledge how ridiculously lucky we are that our baby girl will sleep a solid 12 hours at night; don’t be too jealous, but she gives us two solid naps lasting longer than an hour each day, as well.)

It may not seem like a big deal, but to Beard, who used to play Mr. Mom while I was working, not seeing our Bitsy Girl awake for three or four days at a time is rough.  In order to remedy this situation, we’ve come up with a fun solution:  lunch with Daddy.  Since Saturdays are usually the slowest days at Beard’s job, he is able to take a little bit of a longer lunch.  The Bits and I will either meet him in his office or somewhere out and about in town to just hang out, have fun, and spend time as a family.  I know Beard appreciates it, and I know Bitsy loves seeing her DaddyBeard.  I love watching them together; there really is nothing sexier than a man who is a confident and loving father. 😉

This past weekend we ran off to a park to enjoy some beautiful weather, and I just wanted to share a few pictures from our lunch.

Yes, they scream together.  It is pretty amusing.

Sometimes I have to remind myself that daddies play with babies differently than mommies do.

My daughter is a bit of a thrill seeker.  She’s about 6 3/4 feet in the air here (5 1/2 feet for Beard, plus another foot or so for the length of arm above his head).

Examining the park bench for creatures.

“Hey, Momma, what are you looking at??”

Thanks for letting me share.  Our little Bits always puts a smile on our faces, and we hope she puts a smile on yours!

 

